Picture
I had a mini break-through this morning that had been building for a while.

As an actor, it took me a long time to learn to relax into roles. I didn't even know it as a technique until Louis and Shakespeare Santa Cruz. Around that time, there was a shift in my acting. An improvement. Father Fred said I grew up out of high school acting. What I did was less affected by what I planned, or thought would be good or funny, and just what happened. I found a more emotionally releasing way of acting, which, whether or it looked better, it felt better.

I have begun to feel the same sort of change in my writing. I've learned that I can't fake it, the best work comes when I'm relaxed and, as my dad say, thinking at the same page as I'm writing. I can feel that metative groove when I'm in it and I can feel it just outside of me when it's close.

I don't know what the solution would be, but I think it might be to warm up before I write. A quick Howard or a few sun salutations. Or maybe even a full on Louis style vocal warm up. I rarely had the patience to do this when I acted, but that really is the problem.

Writing needs to be a matter of listening, and listening needs to be from stillness. I think I'll find stillness through physical conditioning and relaxation.





Leave a Reply.